Hyderabad FC to make Durand Cup debut against Assam in Kolkata on Sep 12

Hyderabad, Aug 25: Indian Super League side Hyderabad FC will make their debut in the prestigious Durand Cup with the clash against Assam Rifles Football Team at the Mohun Bagan Ground in Kolkata on September 12.
Hyderabad FC will also be up against 2019 winners and defending champions Gokulam Kerala FC and then Army Red in Group D in the 130th edition of the tournament.
Back in Kolkata after a one-year hiatus due to the pandemic, the 2021 edition of the Durand Cup which kicks off on September 5, is the world’s third oldest and Asia’s oldest existing football tournament.
This year it will be played across three venues in Kolkata – Mohun Bagan Ground, VYBK Salt Lake Stadium and Kalyani Stadium.
The Hyderabad FC squad that will participate in the tournament will consist of a mixture of first-team players along with youngsters from HFC’s reserve side.
First team assistant coach and technical director (Youth) Thangboi Singto alongside reserve team head coach Shameel Chembakath will lead the team during the competition in Kolkata.
The players have already been in training under the duo’s supervision for the past one week in preparation of the competition ahead.
Hyderabad FC will be one of five ISL clubs alongside FC Goa, Bengaluru FC, Kerala Blasters and Jamshedpur FC, which will participate in this year’s competition.
Joining them are three I-League clubs, two Second Division League sides and six teams that represent the Indian Services.
The 16 teams are divided into four groups with the top two teams qualifying for the knockout stages of the competition.
After their opener against Assam Rifles, Hyderabad FC will take on Gokulam Kerala (Sep 16) at Kalyani before facing Army Red (Sep 19) at the Salt Lake Stadium.
Fixtures, Group D:
Match-1 on Sept 12 – Assam Rifles vs. Hyderabad FC – Mohun Bagan Ground
Match-2 on Sept 16 – Gokulam Kerala FC vs. Hyderabad FC – Kalyani Stadium
Match-3 on Sept 19 – Army Red vs. Hyderabad FC – VYBK, Salt Lake Stadium
All games will kick off at 1500 hrs IST

Leave a Comment